Loaded Quinoa Veggie Burgers!!

Cross Training today (it’s supposed to be a gorgeous Fall day, so I’m thinking a long family walk is in store later).  More importantly, I’ll share a delicious and nutritious recipe to add to your collection…

Lately, I’ve been steering clear of store bought veggie burgers.  Well, certain kinds, that is (since reading “Food Rules,” most of them just seem like processed fake stuff to me).  I still buy Sunshine brand- they have about five whole ingredients that are truly veggies.  But they’re expensive for the three that come in a package.  So I did my homework, and I found an inexpensive and super easy way to make a homemade veggie burger.  All of the ingredients were already in my house!


Good choice in a pinch

Last night, I ignored the freezer Sunshines, called out to my inner chef (ha!), and made these burgers from scratch.  I added some cheese and ketchup and they were honestly amazing.  Love is a strong word for a baby who loves animal crackers, but Braxton definitely ate them, which is a success in my book!  And even better, BRIAN ate them and said they were really good!  This is a huge feat for yours truly- Brian is absolutely the cook in our family, and he’s a tough critic on my creations.  Score for Jeannine! 

There are so many different additions you can add to this simple burger, but I made them pretty much verbatim to the recipe (I only added some ground flaxeed).  All the ingredients are easy to find and make these guys super high in protein.  I did use my little Bullet on them, but I think it would be easy enough to sneak around without using the food processor if you smoosh it all well enough;) 

Seek out your inner vegetarian, and make yourself and your family homemade veggie burgers tonight! 


What is this curious creation Mom has served me this evening?

Loaded Quinoa Veggie Burgers

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 15 ounces can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup Italian seasoned dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • *I added one tablespoon of ground flaxeed to make it that much better:)

In a small pot, bring 3/4 cup water to a boil. Add quinoa, cover, and reduce heat to low. Cook until liquid is absorbed, 12 to 14 minutes; set aside.

In a food processor, pulse carrot until finely chopped. Add cooked quinoa, scallions, garlic, beans, breadcrumbs, egg, cumin, salt, and pepper; pulse until combined but still slightly chunky. Or just smoosh it together all really well- it should work just fine.

Form mixture into four patties. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium; cook burgers until browned, about 8 minutes per side.

http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2012/01/04/loaded-quinoa-veggie-burgers/

Leave a Reply

