Ch Ch Ch CHIA!

Yes, they are the same chia seeds as that little adorable pet we all HAD to have in the 90’s.  Alright- I never had one, but now I wish I had.  Did you ever think about buying one and licking it?  Me neither.

Until now.  Chia seeds- another super food I discovered in my reading of “Born to Run.”  The Tarahumara tribe in Mexico eats these little guys as a gel, and they are super-human distance runners.  Now, I’m not saying eat these=you are Scott Jurek, but it can’t hurt.

Chias are plant-based, high in antioxidants, Omega-3s, and they provide you with  fiber, calcium, phosphorous, magnesium, manganese, copper, iron, molybdenum, niacin and zinc.  For running, they help keep me full and hydrated. 

They form a gel when mixed with water, or any liquid.  I canNOT eat them this way.  The texture makes me cringe.  My mom will drink it up this way, and so will my son.  So if you can do it, go for it I say!  I prefer my chias in my oatmeal, or used in recipes.  I’ll make a post with some chia recipes soon!

Now go to Wegmans and get yo self some chias.  Don’t worry, you will not start sprouting.

Leave a Reply

