If I can do it, you can do it.

 

Run, that is.  And here’s why.

This is my “how I got started running” story in a nutshell.  The little girl in that bottom photo is me.  Well, not really, but pretty close. 

I was no athlete in high school.  Infact, I was cut from the basketball team, and I have a certain, purpously-erased memory of crying and crawling under the hurdles as I came in dead last in the 400m while everyone watched in horror.  That was in 8th grade. I never did track again. 

Fast forward a couple years, when I started to want to get in better shape (See Slim Fast Bars in Baggie).  Senior year, my then boyfriend (now husband!) and I started running one mile each night.  I switched from Slim Fast bars to brown rice and veggies.  I saw results, and I wanted to keep it that way.

More and more I ran in college (thanks to my good friend, Emily, who was always game.  “HOLY CRAP WE JUST RAN 8 MILES!”).  I never gained a “Freshman 15”- I lost it.  I ran my first race in 2006- a 20k, and I felt amazingly accomplished.  Later that year, I ran my first half marathon in Liverpool.  Wow, I thought.  I was hooked, and I’ve never looked back.  Through pregnancy, through bronchitis (like an idiot), through everything- I’ve continued to run longer and faster.  I don’t plan on stopping until my legs don’t work anymore.  When I joined Team in Training in 2009 to train for the marathon, I met some fantastic people.  We still run together every weekend, and it is because of them I am the runner I aspire to be today.

My rise from ugly duckling to average duckling is why I say anyone can do it.  Maybe not run (not everyone likes it); but bike, swim, gym, walk, ANYTHING you LIKE to do and can stick to.  Being healthy is a lifestyle, not a quick fix.  That’s the hard part- you have to do it forever to see results forever.  When Bri and I were running that one mile, you couldn’t have told me I would be hoping to see the BOSTON Marathon in my future without me laughing.  Did I even know what a marathon was? 

Make yourself a goal- lose weight, tone up, eat healthier- and DO IT.  Take your kids with you, go really early, go really late, use your kids as weights.  Make no excuses and make it fun.  Whatever you want to do, you can do it, I swear.  You just have to put in the effort.

Just ask my 40lb overweight, giant eyebrows, bell-bottom and Tweety bird shirt wearing high school self.  Don’t worry, I’ll be sure to find a goodie picture of this for you later!

Alright, so there it is. My story and “you can do it” shpeal in a nutshell. 

Now go get moving!

Leave a Reply

