Quinoa, the grain that could!

Image

Ah, my first recipe!  I will not take the credit for inventing any of my recipes.  I find them online, and I make them.  And I will post them if they are delicious.

My main goal in eating right is eating things that keep me full.  Like the porridge oats! 

I also like to make large amounts of things at one time.  This way, I can pack them for lunches at work and feed them to Brax all in one batch.  My first example- Quinoa Party Salad!

Why is quinoa such a superfood?  One cup of quinoa has 9 grams of protein!  I often eat this with a sweet potato and some steamed veggies- kind of like it’s my main meat dish!  It contains all the 8 amino acids, it’s high in fiber, has plant-based calcium, and iron!  It’s good stuff.  It’s gluten-free, too.

So without further ado, here is a recipe I found called “Quinoa Party Salad.”  I have, infact, made this for parties before.  The response?  “This is delicious!  Did Jeannine bring this, because it looks healthy and weird.”  Ahh, family<3

2 cups cooked quinoa, cooled

2 peppers, 1 red and 1 orange

2 cans black beans (or make your own)

2 can corn (or fresh)

1 cup of cilantro

1/4 cup olive oil

Juice of 1 Lime

1 tbsp cumin (We used curry powder, instead) We love us some curry.

Pinch of Red Pepper Flakes

Salt/Pepper

Cook the quinoa in 4 cups boiling water for 20 minutes, covered, and let cool.  Dice your veggies and mix together.  Whisk together olive oil, juice, and spices.  Add everything together, and Ta-Da!

Enjoy!

Full recipe from http://www.afitandspicylife.com/2010/07/23/quinoa-party-salad/

2 thoughts on “Quinoa, the grain that could!

Leave a Reply

