Strategy for a Marathon

I found this poem in a book I’m reading and it’s perfect.

Strategy for a Marathon

by Marnie Mueller

I will start

when the gun goes off.

I will run

for five miles.

Feeling good,

I will run

to the tenth mile.

At the tenth

I will say

 “Only three more

to the halfway.”

At the halfway mark,

13.1 miles,

I will know

fifteen is in reach.

At fifteen miles

I will say,

“You’ve run twenty before,

keep going.”

At twenty

I will say,

“Run home.”

I will keep this in my head always.

Leave a Reply

