Image

Praise the Alarm Clock then Eat Chia Bars!!

Today was one of those mornings I wanted to kick the alarm clock in the shins after pressing snooze 3 times.  I compromised- I pressed it once (really hard) and got up at 5:10 instead.  I’m so glad I did- the minute I started my 4 mile recovery, I felt great and it was just what my muscles needed.  Now I’m up and refreshed and I have begun my work week on a good note!  So next time you’re cursing your clock with a case of the Mondays, think about that!

Before heading to work, I grabbed one of the Chia Seed Energy Bars I made this weekend:)  Will I say is was absolutely amazing?  Well, not compared to a sinful brownie, but that’s not point.  They are very good and worth the little effort it takes to make them (I added chocolate chips, obviously).  Did it give me energy?  Sure, but so did my run and my sleep and my water….

Try this simple recipe to get your chias!

  • 6 large medjool dates
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • Optional: 1/2 teaspoon natural vanilla extract or a pinch of cinnamin powder for taste
  • Optional add ins: Dark chocolate chips, shredded coconut, dried fruit (a couple tablespoons of any add-in)

Remove the pits from the dates and pulse the dates in a food processor or blender until it forms a paste. In a medium bowl, mix the date paste with the chia seeds and coconut oil. It will form a thick dough.

Roll this dough into balls or press into the bottom of a glass or silicon baking dish and cut into squares. It can be eaten immediately in dough-form. We prefer to put it in the fridge or freezer to give it more of a chewy texture. These can be wrapped in wax paper or parchment paper and sent for lunches or snacks.

http://wellnessmama.com/5475/chia-seed-energy-bars/

Happy Happy Monday!!!

Leave a Reply

