Bananas for Bananas

Well as far as training goes, all is well and grand.  Yesterday I was up early for my run so we could make it to church on time and bang out lots of family visits (WHO sleeps in on the weekend??!).  It was a 6 mile marathon pace run, and it was just meh.  I felt tired, rushed, and it was one of those runs I thought, “Boy I hope this isn’t how I feel race day!  I want to go back to bed and sleep and snuggle.”  Of course, I didn’t have the nerves and adrenaline joining me that I will in October.  Sometimes I just have a bad day, and it’s hard not to get discouraged.  But running is mostly mental, so I remember that one bad day out of the many many good ones ‘aint so bad.  I was passed out by 8:30 last night- that’s how tired I was.  I know, I know- poor me.

Alas, my faith was indeed restored with today’s perfect-weathered morning and great 4 miler- it was a little later, so I watched the sun rise as I ran.  Elation- back in check!  So don’t sweat a bad day or let it get to down– they happen to the best of us and make us appreciate the good ones.  The marathoner Paula Radcliffe has broken down in an important race before, and she’s a pro.  Tomorrow is a new day, and it will probably be prettier, too!

Aren’t they fancy;)

OkOk, Jeannine, what about bannas, you say!! So my son is bananas for bananas.  Loves ’em.  Steals them from my oatmeal.  Eats ’em rolled in flax, and would probably eat them rolled in anything.  And I sure haven’t been secretive about my love for ice cream- so why not combine our loves into one delicious, healthy treat?!  Thanks to some of my favorite blogs, I found two recipes where we can do JUST THAT!

Creamy Chocolate Fudgsicles

Image

  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup canned full-fat coconut milk
  • 2 small, very-ripe bananas
  • scant 1/16 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • sweetener of choice, to taste (stevia, agave, etc.)
  • optional: feel free to add peanut butter!

Combine all items in a blender.  Pour into popsicle molds and freeze.

and

Two- Ingredient Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Image

4 large very ripe bananas
2 tablespoons peanut butter

1. Peel bananas and slice into 1/2 inch discs. Arrange banana slices in a single layer on a large plate or baking sheet. Freeze for 1-2 hours.

2. Place the banana slices in a food processor or powerful blender. Puree banana slices, scraping down the bowl as needed. Puree until the mixture is creamy and smooth. Add the peanut butter and puree to combine. Serve immediately for soft-serve ice cream consistency. If you prefer harder ice cream, place in the freezer for a few hours and then serve.

For this second recipe, I have made this without peanut butter- you can add ANYTHING you want!  Cocoa powder for chocolate ice cream, honey, coconut, hell, gummy bears.  Or just make the bananas alone.  Brax and I share this stuff and we both a crazy about it.  See what you think!

I want to end this post on a serious note.  Let us all send our thoughts prayers to the family and students of a Fairport teacher who was killed while riding her bike yesterday morning.  It is an incredibly tragic, sad story that should never, never have happened.  Be careful when you’re out on the roads, driving or otherwise, because God knows others are not.  My heart goes out to everyone.

http://rochesterhomepage.net/fulltext?nxd_id=333432

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/08/11/creamy-chocolate-fudgsicles/ (love every single thing she does!)

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/two-ingredient-banana-peanut-butter-ice-cream/ (Ok, ditto)

Leave a Reply

