Monday Recipe- Lemon & Kale Quinoa Salad

Dear Weekends, you go by far too fast for this girl.  Infact, same for you, Time.  Tomorrow is my “due date” anniversary.  Can I celebrate that with a whoopie pie?  Most certainly I will.  Last year at this time, I was very antsy to get my boy here.  I can still feel his little knee by my rib.  Already, he will be one year old next Tuesday- and he can now kick me in the ribs from the outside.  But- he can also give me kisses.  I know I rushed it before, but let’s go ahead and stop Time for a little bit, ok?

 
One year…get ready for a very emotional Momma this week.

Enough of that for now.  I ran 8 pace miles in Mendon on Saturday.  I know I sing the praises of the Garmin, but there are times I want to throw it off a cliff.  It didn’t find its satellites for half of the run, and when it did pick them up, it said I was running at a 2 minute per mile pace- 3 when I slowed down.  If that was the case, then I am a superhuman and I belong in a museum.  It took me an hour, so I could calculate it myself- no thanks to YOU, expensive watch!

Sunday I ran 11 miles around town, and today will be a recovery four- after work.  All my runs lately are, dare I say, easy?  I am absolutely a Fall runner.  I love the cool air with no humidity.  You can’t beat the view when the leaves change- it’s gorgeous.   That’s why I picked a Fall marathon- I’m hoping this feeling carries through. 

For whatever reason, Braxton chose 3:30 to be up this morning!  I’m working on this weaning thing, so I tried to avoid nursing and distract him with Legos and books and pretend cell phones and Puffs.  He wasn’t having it (men.), and we were up with him all morningI know I need to appreciate this time, because it does go so fast.  That’s hard to remember so early in the morning, but someday I’ll wish he’d wake me and need me like he does now.  Anyways, that’s why I’ll be running later today if I don’t fall asleep- and he’ll be coming along for the ride.  Maybe he’ll nap to make up for it.  Oddly, he was chipper as a squirrel at 5am while I was chugging the coffee.  When I finish tonight I will cook this power dish.  Easy and probably so much healthiness involved it could burst- plus it looks de-freaking-licious!  Happy Monday!

Lemon & Kale Quinoa Salad

1 cup quinoa, cooked
1/2 14-oz can garbanzo beans
1 lemon, juiced
1 small bunch of kale, torn, stems removed
1 tomato, diced
1/4 cup basil, chiffonade
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon garlic salt (or garlic powder)
1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper

1. In a large skillet, sauté kale in olive oil on medium low heat for about 10 minutes, until wilted. Turn off heat.

2. Stir in tomato, garbanzo beans, basil, garlic salt and pepper. Add quinoa and lemon juice then toss to combine.

See what you think!

http://www.fromthelittleyellowkitchen.com/2012/06/20/lemon-kale-quinoa-salad/

2 thoughts on “Monday Recipe- Lemon & Kale Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

