A little training, A little partying

Super busy weekend- Over.  It’s bittersweet.  On one hand, I’m glad to be done with the stress of party planning.  On the other hand, well, it’s over.  Let’s start with the pesky running thing first.

Friday:  Ok, I already TALKED about Friday training, except for you know what happened AFTER I wrote my post?  Braxton Robert took his FIRST STEPS!!  Not like 1 step- like 4 whole steps!  I set him down holding on to his little center, and turned my back to work on something.  When I turned back around, there he was- WALKING toward me.  I can’t describe how I felt when I saw it- maybe pride mixed with supreme excitement with a dash of sad because my baby is really growing up?  But mostly, I was so happy.  My little boy is going to be walking any day now.  And you know what that means?  One step closer to running😉

Saturday:  Ohh Saturday.  I got up at the crack of dawn to run a pace 8 miles around town, before heading to the pavillion to set up my fish party vision.  More about that in a bit:)

Sunday: 17 miles in Mendon.  Because of my schedule, I haven’t been making it out with the group a lot.  But I made it a point to be there yesterday.  There’s something about being with them that makes running 17 miles not so… daunting?  It was a smooth run, and a cool morning- I only started to feel it a little bit around mile 15 when the heat set in.  But again, with such great people all around me- I finished smiling:)  As always, thanks for the run, guys.  Until next week- half marathon race!!

Today: Recovery 4 this morning.  My legs are feeling yesterday’s run, but this made them feel a little less stiff.  I needed it!

Ok, now I’ll talk a tad about this party, because, well I want to have it documented of course!

There are some things that make a baby upset.  Like when his mom puts shorts on his head:

Other times, his grumpiness is unexplained.  Example- Saturday’s party.  I’ll give him this: it was hot, there were a lot of people, he had no afternoon nap, he’s getting a cold, and it was an unfamiliar place.  Enough reasons?!  Alright, he wasn’t all that bad.  He is just very very attached to yours truly lately.  No one else could really hold, look at, touch, or smile at him.  Usually water is the cure-all for this boy, and even that wasn’t working.  It was one of those days.  It made it a little hard on me; I felt I didn’t give enough time visiting everyone there.  But, you just can’t predict a one year old.  As I always say- one day he’ll want to be completely independent of me- so I’ll appreciate the clingy stage now.  And to be fair, there were a lot of smiles, too.

I was there at 9:30 to set up everything I had shopped for feverishly on Friday.  I had a vision, and I wanted it juuust right.  It came out great, but as with most parties- SO MUCH WORK into a couple of hours, and for a little boy who most likely won’t remember the detail. I put a fishing station, fish bread, fish balloons, an ocean punch, fish fish GALORE.  Worth it, though:)

It was a beautiful day at Onanda Park.  It was one of my favorite places to go growing up, and it was a little surreal to bring my son to the same place I played in the sand.  So many people in our lives were there to share it with us.  Braxton got so many great gifts, and I can attest to it that he loves every single one.  They’re scattered around the house, and he visits them all like tiny stations he must make his rounds to.

He enjoyed a special cake just for him, made by his Nana.  Thank GOD for my mom for: Shopping all day with me Friday, coming early and setting up with me, making his shirt, making his cakes, making food, organizing the schedule, and cleaning up.  She’s an angel and I could not have done it without her.

Thank you to everyone who came out to celebrate- Aunts, Uncles, Grandmas, Grandpas, Greats, friends, cousins- I hope you know how much it means to us.  Life is only as special as the people in it, and we feel like our life is pretty special.  And a big thank you to his first baby friend for coming, Mr. William Grabowski:)  He’s such a handsome boy, and we can’t wait for more playdates.  We were talking about how it seems like yesterday we were meeting for college bar parties- now we’re meeting for our kid’s birthdays.  Boy are we grown ups!

Well, I have kept the tears at bay so far.  We’ll see how I do tomorow- on the actual birthday.  I think I’ll be fine though.  As much as the cliche, “Time goes by too fast” is true, it’s a really wonderful journey.  I look forward to seeing him grow even more.  Afterall, he’s practically walking!  Imagine our adventures to come!!


A few pictures of a million of the big day:)

Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.”   I’d say that goes for raising little boys too, don’t you<3

Leave a Reply

