Friday Recipe: Mango Coconut Chia Pudding

Hellooo Friday!  Today’s Training: Very easy 5 miles- I’m running a half marathon on Sunday, so I’m slowing it down a little in preparation! My Goal: Beat my old PR (1:48:45)!  I think I can I think I can….we’ll see!  I’ll be sure to keep you posted;)

When looking for a recipe today, I wanted a dessert, but healthy- I’m trying to find more of these types of recipes to make for Brax.  He LOVES mangos, so this one seemed perfect.  It’s a simple pudding recipe, and it can be tweaked to your liking in so many ways!  I will tell you one thing- it has that tapioca texture.  Braxton LOVES this.  I do not.  For that reason, I have to add granola to make it crunchy if I want to eat it.  Because the chia seeds expand, it makes the milk pudding-like after the time it sits.  Feel free to replace whatever fresh fruit you have laying around, omit the coconut, add almonds or greek yogurt or granola or sprinkles.  Experiment!  Let me know if you try something different that we should too!  Here’s the original recipe, though.  Mmmm, chia!

Mango Coconut Chia Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup lite coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 cup fresh ripe mango, diced
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp sweetened shredded coconut
  • Honey to taste

Combine all ingredients in a large container. Mix well and close container. Refrigerate overnight or at least 5-6 hours.

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/06/mango-coconut-chia-pudding.html

And just as an end note- we picked up our farm share last night and it was HUGE- I still can’t believe it.  If I didn’t sell the CSA before, look what we brought home this week: 1 watermelon, 10 ears of sweet corn, 1 pound of kale, swiss chard, and tatsoi, 2 eggplants, 3 winter squash, 6 pounds of tomatoes, 4 red peppers, 2 pounds of beets and carrots, 2 heads of romaine, 3 onions, 4 cucumbers, and all we could pick cherry tomatoes, hot peppers, okra, parsley, basil, thyme, cilantro, oregano, dill, tomatillos, beans, and fresh flowers (Sunflowers and Broom Corn are lighting up my kitchen)!  I know, nuts huh!  And there’s plenty more we didn’t take!  We’re stocked!  Lots of fun recipes to come:)  I don’t know what I’m going to do without the farm this winter.  Probably hybernate.  Have I convinced you yet to join next year!??

Leave a Reply

