18. Mile. Run. Done!

Today’s Training: 5 Miler at my Momma’s house.  It was supposed to be a recovery run, but it was so fantastic outside I paced that baby all the way.  I just couldn’t help myself:)  Besides, I needed the redemption after yesterday’s killer run.

If last weekend’s 13.1 miler made me think I am sooo ready to qualify for Boston, yesterday’s 18 miler sure put my little mind right back into perspective.

An exact replica of me Saturday morning.

I think I would have been better off waiting to run later in the day, but there I was at 6:30am in Mendon with the group Saturday morn.  It hadn’t rained yet; it was so incredibly humid and annoying and I was not a happy runner.  I kept getting super thirsty and my legs were stiff, and really just poor, poor me.  Two miles in, I already knew I was in for it.

Our 18 miles in Mendon is two loops.  After I finished the first, I definitely considered going in.  But I didn’t- I pushed myself to keep going, and I’m glad I did.  In all honesty, I struggled almost the entire run-until it finally poured around mile 15 and the humidity lifted.  Three miles of smooth, cool, wet sailing!  Thanks for waiting so long, Mother Nature.  She just wanted to test me.  She can be such a catty biotch sometimes.

Alright- enough complaining.  I shall remain positive about this training.  I mean, I finished 18 freaking miles!  Twenty is as far as I go before the big day- I’m so close!!  I wasn’t running at the pace I’d need to qualify, but I’m chalking that up to a bad run.  Next time will be better.  With zero humidity, right old M.N.?!

41 days left until 26.2.  I have two eyes on this race (besides the two I grew behind my head when Braxton became mobile).  One eye, my right eye (the better of the two) is looking to qualify for Boston and it sees that goal as clear as a bell.  The weaker, the left, just hopes to finish strong, run the entire thing, and finish better than the last time.  In either scenario, both eyes are on that finish line. I feel ready to get there.

I must mention that this weekend I felt very lucky for the people I have in my life, and I want to thank them.

First of all, my husband.  Having him gone all weekend really made me miss him.  I have no clue if it was that I missed him a lot, or if Brax has suddenly bloomed new features- but boy am I seeing a lot of Brian in my little boy lately❤  I love that.


Brian, Jr.

Dave, my running friend.  For putting out all the water stops, waiting for everyone to finish before he left himself, for always motivating us and giving us his Saturday mornings, and for driving around the park while it was raining just to check on everyone.  He is such a wonderful person, and I consider myself lucky to be able to run with him.

My sister.  For spending the night with me Friday night, and watching Brax, so I could be at my run Saturday morning.  For the drinks (which may have contributed to said “run struggle”), the deep talk into the night, the outfit, and the dinner.  We need to do that more often.  She is the most giving person I know, and I loved every second of the quality time we had together this weekend.  Congrats to her on her new job, and good luck tomorrow, Sissy<3  Of course, thanks to my Mom and Aunt Sandy, for always being there to come hang out with us, and for everything they do.  I have an amazing family.

I think Full House had it all right.  I could happily live in one giant house with my family and be content.  I don’t know what I’d do without them.  We’ve always called Mom Danny Tanner, so it’s a no brainer.  Of course, now that’s me, the pot, calling the kettle black- I have become Ellen Tanner, Jr.  I vaccuum my vaccuum and dust my duster.  Thanks, Mom!

Niki, Bri absolutely resembles Steve in every way possible, so it’s a given that I am D.J.  You can be Michelle.  And Ash.  You’re the Gibs.  Now let’s start househunting!

Leave a Reply

