Friday Fry Day- Butternut Squash Fries

Friday, again…my you came so fast this week!  Today’s training will be an 5 easy miler- probably with my sunny son after work.  We will run into the sunset together, because it really is beautiful.  Below is a stunning cell phone picture of what I get to look at when I run in the evenings. The tune I sing to myself while I’m passing by?  “When the sun goes down, I’ll be running- Jeannine will be running when the sun goes down.”  Yes, Kenny Chesney, I will write your next song for you.

Last night was farm night!  Their life is coming to an end, so we could get 7 pounds of tomatoes.  That’s a TON of tomatoes.  I’m not lying when I say I believe b. would choose tomatoes over ice cream any day of the week (unlike his mama!).  All types of tomato- from cherry to the big ones.  I picked a HUGE heirloom, and he plucked it right from my hands and ate the entire thing like an apple.  He’s crazy about them, and I love it.  I only wish I’d taken a picture of his little juicy, seedy chin after he was done<3

Also on the pick up list now- Winter Squash!  Butternut and acorn and pumpkins!  I took a butternut last night, and I’ve searched around to see what I can do with it that is fun, easy, and different- and that Braxton will eat too.  I’ve decided on some fries.  Who says we can’t enjoy some fries every now and again?  Not this girl!  Hey, Golden Arches, eat your heart out.

Butternut Squash Fries

To make butternut squash fries all you have to do is peel the butternut squash with a potato peeler (don’t worry, the peel comes off super easy) then place the butternut squash on a towel and cut it in half horizontally. Cut each half in half vertically.

Slice the butternut squash into thin pieces (resembling French fries). Toss the butternut squash pieces in a little bit of extra virgin olive oil or extra virgin coconut oil and season with salt and pepper (I sometimes season them with either cumin or curry powder depending on what I’ll be serving them with.)

Spread the butternut squash pieces out on a large oiled baking sheet (or use 2 large well-oiled cast-iron skillets) and bake at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes. Set aside to cool for at least 10 minutes before eating.

http://cleancuisineandmore.com/3-super-healthy-easy-butternut-squash-recipes/

Leave a Reply

