Tuesday Sprints and Veggie Burgers

This morning when the alarm went off, I wanted to smash it to smithereens with a bat.  But I didn’t have a bat, so I got up instead.  My plan called for 7×400 (at least I think so.  Braxton decided to “clean” my training plan last night).  Typically I just substitute for hills, but I was in no mood for Summit Hill today.

Displaying WP_20140630_001.jpg

My plan is so clear now!  Thanks b!

I definitely don’t run my sprints in any sort of scientific official way.  I love the ease of running from my own doorstep, so I don’t really want to drive to a track…and I live less than a half mile from the nice, flat canal.  I literally have zero idea how long it would take me to run a 400M around the track- so I figured I’d do two-minute sprints seven times.  Using my phone only for the minutes, I guess I’m just assuming it was a sprint.  I ran as hard as I possibly could for two minutes, then slowed to a jog for another two minutes, and repeated this seven times.  It was a 28 minute workout with a quick warm up and cool down, but I felt like I finished an awesome workout in the end.  Town was so busy even that early this morning with runners and people walking their dogs to beat the heat- I love to see that:)  I looked like I went for a swim in the canal by the time I got home- it was already crazy humid out!  Working towards that old Boston goal is hard work!

turtle

Oh, and today is International Joke Day according to my work best friend Activity Connection, so here is my joke of the day:

A man walks into a psychiatrist’s office wearing only underwear made of Saran Wrap.
The psychiatrist says, “Well…I can clearly see your nuts.”

Finally, I must share this great recipe I found in the Democrat and Chronicle a few days ago. I made them for my family and Brian LOVED them! He never loves anything I cook- because it’s always beans- so I was happy! We also made them for Lottie’s baptism. They’re chunky, delicious, and easy!  Give them a try with some sweet potato fries, go tell some jokes, run some sprints, and clean your training plans!  Happy Tuesday!

Mushroom Veggie Burgers

veggie burger

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 cup diced fresh mushrooms
1 can pinto beans, 15 ounces, drained and rinsed
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
2 tablespoons parsley
Salt and pepper to taste
4 English muffins
Bean sprouts, for topping
Cojita cheese, for topping

Heat a large saute pan on medium-high. Add olive oil; when hot, add onion and garlic. Saute for 3-5 minutes or until onion pieces are soft. Add green pepper, cumin and mushrooms. Cook for another 5 minutes, until mushrooms are cooked; set aside.

Mash beans with a potato masher or process in a food processor until well mashed. Add mushroom mixture to the beans. Next, add egg, panko, parsley, salt and pepper. Stir until well combined.

Shape the mixture into 4 patties.

Heat grill to medium-high. Lightly oil grates and add mushroom burgers. Grill about 3 minutes per side. Remove burgers from grill and place on English muffins. Top with sprouts and cheese.

Per serving: 315 calories, 10 g fat, 4 mg cholesterol, 11 g protein, 47 g carbohydrates, 6 g fiber, 890 mg sodium, 27 percent calories from fat.

http://www.azcentral.com/story/life/food/recipes/2014/05/20/mushroom-veggie-burgers-recipe/9328447/

Can't wait for July. Baby girl turns 2. Our wedding anniversary n a Really great friends is getting married. So happy for them

Leave a Reply

