Kohlrabi and Scapes- CSA cooking!

I welcomed three cool miles this morning after the muggiest five miles in creation yesterday morning!  I do enjoy summer, but I really love running better when it’s cool and crisp and grand and I don’t have to wring out my hair when I’m done.

runningheat

I’ve been trying to find a new recipe each week to cook with our CSA pickup, but I wanted to wait until I actually cooked them before I posted it.  That way I can say firsthand how wonderful, or perhaps not, it came out.  Besides eating it raw, I haven’t had a clue what to do with my kohlrabi.  Until now, that is!  It’s not something I’d buy regularly, but I like that the farm share has introduced us to new things.  I’m not sure if they sell it at farm markets or the grocery store, but if they do, maybe try it once.  Or don’t- you will be fine.

Kohlrabi is a weird-looking plant and entire thing is edible.  Exciting, I know!  It’s similar to cabbage in taste.  Any recipe has me when I see “one pot” and we love curry, so this was a quick and easy choice.  Here is what I did with ours:

One Pot Lentil and Kohlrabi Curry

Ingredients:
extra-virgin olive oil
2 garlic cloves, pressed
1/2 onion sliced
1 TBS finely chopped peeled fresh ginger
1 TBS white wine vinegar
1 cup dried lentils
1 can garbanzo beans
3 large kohlrabi (about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 pounds); leaves stemmed, thinly sliced; bulb peeled, cut into 1/3-inch dice (about 3 cups)
1 1/2 tablespoons sweet curry powder
1 cup rice (brown or white)
6 cups water
Extra turmeric, coriander and cumin to taste
1/2 cup chopped green onions or chives
1/2 cup chopped fresh mint or cilantro
Pita or Naan bread

Directions:

In a heavy pot over medium heat, saute garlic, onion and ginger in olive oil. Add white wine vinegar, lentils, garbanzo beans, kohlrabi and sliced leaves, curry powder, rice, and water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes until rice and lentils are tender. Stir and add turmeric, coriander, and cumin to taste. Garnish with chopped green onions or chives and chopped mint or cilantro. Serve with warmed pita or naan bread.

I basically had most of these things already on hand and it really did come out good, not amazingly out of this world, but good.  The naan bread really made the dish, though.  Brian and Braxton both ate it right up. So did the dog when it fell on the floor!  I am extremely lucky to have a husband who isn’t all meat and potatoes and is game for these different kinds of meals I make.
The following night I used up our garlic scapes and basil to make a pesto.  This is always a super fast dinner option- whip it up in the food processor, cook some pasta (I used bow ties!), and BAM you’re done.
Garlic Scape Basil Pesto

Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup (about 6) garlic scapes, flowers and tough ends removed
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • kosher salt, fresh pepper to taste

Directions: Cut the garlic scapes into small pieces. In a food processor or mini blender pulse scapes, basil, Parmigiano, salt and pepper until smooth. Slowly add the olive oil while pulsing. Store in an air-tight jar for up to two weeks.

And that will do it with my super impressive cooking skills for this edition of…what do I do with these veggies?!!? 

Now I need to go make cookies or something:):)

http://www.thefarmatourhouse.com/one-pot-lentil-and-kohlrabi-curry.html

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/07/garlic-scape-basil-pesto.html

Leave a Reply

