Plotting Kids, Tempo Runs, and Beans!

Happy Wednesday!!  I have decided there is a Murphy’s Law to having children and it is this:

The moment you wash your sheets, your children will deposit something that begins with “P” on them. 

Without fail.  This is how it happens.

Brother: “Ok, I know you’re not super hungry, but overfeed yourself and then, you know, let a little bit out right on Mom’s side.  Then I’ll get Dad’s and plus a little on Mom’s pillow just for a bonus because I love her.”
Sister: “Awesome idea, it’s a plan.  I’ll cry now so she feeds me.  WAHHHHHHH!”
Brother: “Muahahhaa”

There are few things I enjoy more than clean sheets.  Last night, after a beautiful washing, Charlotte decided to drink a bit too much and had to let the excess out all over my rainbow smelling, soft as cloud sheets.  This, as it always does, triggered Braxton’s weirdly sensitive gag reflex, and he joined in her sabotage.  Something similar happens every single time, almost immediately after said sheets are placed on the bed.  Note for next time: there is no such thing as clean sheets when you have children. 

It so nice for the 3 minutes it lasts, though!

sleepers!
But I mean, how could I be mad at these squishies?!

Onto today’s run!  After a kickboxing session with Jillian yesterday, I was not ready for a tempo run today because I like to add my own spice to my training schedule.  I’ll call it…Jeanninnamon.  I like it.  Today was seven miles, and it’s pretty hot out there.  What happened to that FALL I was so excited about?!  Anyways, I changed up the pace throughout the run as a challenge to myself.  I warmed up one mile, ran an 8 minute pace for two miles, ran between 7-7:30 pace for the next two, a marathon pace for the next, and cooled down the last.

When I do this kind of run, it is a heavy breathing, messy sounding, gross looking workout.  But I have to do it, because it will help me be a more efficient, and hopefully faster runner.  Thank GOD that is over until next week.

Speaking of clean sheets and tempo runs, what is a better meal to cook than Cuban rice and beans?  I cook meat for Brax and Bri a couple times a week, but the other days, they endure enjoy my plethora of bean, tofu, and quinoa recipes. The other night I made this because it was quick and easy and…beans!  Served with Naan bread and avocado, it was a good dinner honestly enjoyed by all parties.  Try it out on a night you’re in a hurry or really anytime you want.

Arroz Congri (Cuban Rice and Beans)

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper, chopped
  • small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup uncooked long grain rice
  • 15 oz can black beans, I use Goya (don’t drain)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 bay leaf
  • pinch oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. In a heavy medium sized pot, heat oil on medium heat. Add onions, peppers and garlic and sauté until soft, about 4-5 minutes.

2. Add rice, beans, water, cumin, bay leaf, oregano and salt and pepper.

3. Simmer on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the rice absorbs most of the water and just barely skims the top of the rice.

4. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer 20 minute (don’t peek). Make sure you have a good seal on your cover, the steam cooks the rice. After 20 minutes, shut flame off and let it sit, covered another 5 minutes (don’t open the lid).

Enjoy!

 

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/02/arroz-congri-cuban-rice-and-black-beans.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

