Chard- Eat it Up!

Today’s Training: 4 miles tonight after last night’s cross training- yoga.  The weather was literally perfect- the crisp air and crunch of leaves just makes me as happy as a duck.  My alarm did go off at 5am this morning.  But I sat up, looked out into the pitch dark, and thought about how pretty the run would be later in the day.  I still got out of bed and enjoyed the quiet downstairs until the kids awoke and the day had to begin.

funny running
Close enough:)

It does not matter how easy or quick my meals are- lately, they are all fairly stressful. This is because little Lots is in the stage of “MOMMY PICK ME UP ALL OF THE TIME NO MATTER WHAT!” and that is tough when I’m trying to make dinner for “MOMMY I AM HUNGRY AND I AM GOING TO THROW ALL OF MY TOYS ALL OVER THE PLACE UNTIL DINNER!”

Maybe if I Google search “easy meals to make with one available arm,” things will be easier. How am I supposed to chop vegetables when a chubby baby who wants to grab everything is attached to me?

But I’ll just endure meal making time as it is for now because I’m sure someday I instead will hear…”MOM CHARLOTTE TOOK MY TOY AND THEN THREW IT AT MY HEAD!”

I haven’t really kept up with recipes this time around- it’s been a lot of my own life amongst running, but I really love helping people find ways to use healthy foods they may have never tried before or how to begin with them. In my last training posts, I talked about most of my favorite things (kale, chia, coconut water/oil, lentils, pumpkin, and lotsofgoodstuff), but there are a ton of other things I love.  One of my favorite items from the farm is chard.  I’m glad it introduced me to this little goodie to add to our meals.

Chard in the Victory Garden.jpg

Chard is considered one of the healthiest vegetables available.  It’s high in vitamins A, K, and C, protein, and dietary fiber.  Fresh and young, it can be used raw in salads.  Mature, it’s typically cooked.  It is called many different names, like Swiss chard or spinach beet.

My Grandma always used to sauté me beet greens with vinegar, sugar, and bacon when I lived with her.  Chard is very similar, except I’d omit the bacon now and add some pine nuts, as in this simple recipe I found.  So good as a side!

Simple Chard Recipe

Ingredients:

A bunch of fresh chard
2 Tbs olive oil
1/2 cup finally chopped red onions
2 cloves of garlic (thinly sliced)
3 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar
2 heaping Tbs brown sugar
2 Tbs golden raisins
2 Tbs pine nuts

Directions:

Wash the chard. Tear leaves from the stems and cut leaves into bite-sized pieces.
Discard the stems. In a large frying pan, sauté onions in olive oil for 5 minutes, add
garlic and sauté for one more minute. Mix the vinegar, sugar and raisins in a bowl and
add to onions. Add chard, put a lid on the pan and cook for 2 to 3 minutes. I pronounce
it done when the chard starts to change to change colors.

Or if you want a little more to it, try this:

Potatoes with Garlicky Chard Broth

Ingredients:

1 pound small potatoes of your choice, scrubbed
3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 bunch chard, stems removed
1 cup vegetable or chicken broth
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Put the potatoes in a large saucepan, add cold water to cover by an inch and season generously with salt. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer until potatoes are fork tender, about 10-12 minutes depending on their size.
  2. Drain and halve the potatoes if large and set aside while you prepare the broth.
  3. Add the finely chopped garlic along with the tablespoon of olive oil over low heat to a large skillet and cook for 4-5 minutes until the garlic starts to sizzle and becomes fragrant. Roughly chop the chard and add to the pan along with ½ cup of the stock. Cook for 2-3 minutes or just until the chard starts to wilt. Add the chard to the bowl of a food processor or blender and pulse until the chard is finely chopped. Add the potatoes and chard mixture back to the skillet along with the remaining ½ cup of stock and the lemon juice. Cook over medium heat until the potatoes are heated through. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

Funny mom cartoons.  LOL! Yep after the 12 yr old said How lonely he was & begged for a brother or sister Sorta makes ya feel guilty but What did we all do before Ty? Our Wild Child! LOL!

These recipes, though delicious, are not completely one-arm friendly.  Oh well, I tried.  Happy Tuesday!

 

http://www.sunnycovechef.com/uploads/2/1/5/8/21583640/swiss_chard_recipe.pdf
http://www.scalingbackblog.com/savory-bites/potatoes-in-garlicky-chard-broth/

Leave a Reply

