When Life Gives You Apples…

Today’s Training:  Tonight I’ll go for my 4 mile loop when Bri gets home.  It’s a bit chillier in the air today and it might be raining, but it will be done!  Wednesday morning was a 7 mile tempo run- always my favorite.  I’m not sure I’m getting much faster, but it still kicks my butt every time!

A nice little visual:)

We went apple picking yesterday.  I’m telling you, one of the best parts of having kids is that you get to do all sorts of kid-like things all over again.  Not that apple picking is only a kid thing, but it is so awesome to see everything through children’s eyes.  It makes any experience almost magical.  Braxton was so excited that he could reach the trees this year all by himself!  Char enjoyed her own little ground space and giggled with glee watching us!  My little spunky girl is 9 months old today.  I can’t believe it.  She’s getting quite the little personality to her- already reminding me of myself in some ways (I hope that’s a good thing).  I can’t even imagine my life without her in it<3

apples1 apples2 apples4apples6apples3  apples5

It’s a little on the early side still, so of the three varieties we could have chosen from, we picked Spartans.  We wanted something we could both eat and bake with.  Granted, I do not know too much about apple varieties, so I’ll eat or bake with whatever I have.

apples

You’ve hear the old saying…an apple a day keeps the doctor away.  Well, I don’t know about that, but it definitely can’t hurt!

The only thing about most apples for picking around here is that they’re sprayed. But honestly, if we wipe and wash them well enough, they’re fine.  We’re not eating them by the bushels.  Apples are easily available- especially in the fall in the Fingerlakes- and they’re such a superfruit.  The phytonutrients in them have even been shown to help regulate blood sugar.  They’re high in fiber and Vitamin C- especially when eaten with the skin. Best of all, they’re the perfect snack for only around 80 calories!

But, as we did last night, you might want to bring these little babies to a whole new level.  I do love my veggies, but I also really love sweet things and eat them a lot.  Especially when the weather gets cooler and cozy.  Grandma always made THE BEST apple crisp when I was little, so we brought her some apples last night and I asked her for her recipe.  We made it the minute we got home. Served warm with vanilla ice cream, it was perfect!  You will never want to make it another way again!

Grandma’s Apple Crisp

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup butter, softened
4 cups chopped, peeled apples
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
In a mixing bowl, combine first four ingredients.  Cut in butter until crumbly.  Press half into greased 9 inch square pan.  Cover with apples.  In a saucepan, combine sugar, cornstarch, water, and vanilla; cook and stir until thick and clear.  Pour over apples.  Sprinkle with remaining crumb mixture.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour or until apples are tender.  Yield: 8 Servings

And for something the whole family can enjoy- we made some applesauce!  There are a million different recipes out there, but we kept it simple.  I love my applesauce chunky, but I tossed it in the food processor so even Lottie could get in on the action!

Super Easy Applesauce
Super Easy Applesauce by Elephantine

4 cups chopped apples (I left the peels on, but you don’t have to)
1 cup water
½ tsp ground cinnamon
honey or sugar to taste (optional- obviously no honey for babies)

Toss the chopped apples, water, and cinnamon into a pot. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and cook with a lid on, stirring occasionally, until the apples have broken completely apart (about 20-30 minutes). Sweeten it a little with honey or sugar, or leave it deliciously tart if you prefer. Let cool and refrigerate.

Happy Picking, Friends!! 🙂

applepie

http://www.elephantineblog.com/2012/10/super-easy-applesauce.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

