Singin’ the Blue Potatoes

Today’s Training: 4 wonderful recovery miles tonight after last night’s Jillian beat down and long walk around the block w my babies.  This weather has been incredible!  We live at the top of the very large hill and every time we get to it on our walk, B loves to get out and run up it.  Often times, he’s stopped by some sort of distraction that catches his eye—a bug, a flower, a stick fishing pole, a rock, a speck of nothing—and the walk takes forever.  As much as I am in a hurry sometimes, I really try to encourage him to walk and explore.  So we take our time.  Unless Lottie decides she herself has had enough and begins screaming.  Then we book it home.

PUMPYKINER
We don’t want to upset the princess.

Know what else the princess and prince tolerate eat?!  Blue potatoes!  Another one of my faves!  So many things are my faves.  The blue can go two ways with kids.  They’ll either love it because it’s cool to eat blue.  Or they’ll think it’s weird and not want to touch it.  Braxton has done both.  I cut them into little pieces for Char and she ate every last bite- as she does with everything she can get her little chubby patties on!

When I was training for my first marathon, I thought carb loading was supremely important.  I ate pasta constantly.  As a result, I never slimmed down much and felt heavy when I ran.  I am zero percent an expert on the scientific reason behind it, but carb loading is not for me.  I try to limit my own carbs to pasta once a week and potatoes in some form- with one of our meals.

Blue potatoes are another item the farm introduced me to.  Besides being pretty, these little guys offer a lot of nutrition.  Colorful potatoes provide us with carotenoids that white potatoes don’t.  Carotenoids are known for their health benefits in decreasing diseases, especially eye disease.  In any potato, most of the fiber is found in the skin, so they’re something to buy organic and not peel when you cook them.  As always, it’s a good idea to “eat a rainbow” of foods and these help you get there.

The other night I made red, white, and blue potatoes into home fries.  It was just gorgeous and is now filed away in my mind as some sort of a patriotic holiday dish!  Another easy, delicious way to make them?!  (Much better than that weird hash that comes in a can that I for whatever reason LOVED when I was little.)  Enjoy!

Fresh Corn and Blue Potato Hash

Ingredients:
1 pound small blue potatoes
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1 cup fresh corn kernels (from 2 ears)
1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 cups baby spinach leaves (2 ounces)
3/4 cup shredded Manchego cheese (1 1/2 ounces)
Directions:
  1. In a medium saucepan, cover the potatoes with water and bring to a boil. Add a large pinch of salt and boil over moderately high heat until just tender, about 15 minutes. Drain the potatoes and let cool, then quarter them.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan of boiling salted water, cook the corn until crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Drain and pat dry with paper towels.
  3. In a large skillet, heat the oil. Add the potatoes and cook over moderately high heat until browned on the bottom, about 5 minutes. Add the corn and cook until lightly toasted, about 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add the spinach and cook, tossing, until wilted, about 1 minute. Remove from the heat. Sprinkle the Manchego over the potatoes and stir twice, then transfer to a platter and serve.

http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/fresh-corn-and-blue-potato-hash

 

Leave a Reply

