Weekend Fun! Pumpkins, Family, Friends- and Running

Weekend training went ok.  It was the busiest of weekends (what weekend isn’t?).  Running had to fit in there when I could.  Thank God it was a taper week!  Our family Apple Shed trip was scheduled and friends were home.  If they can make time for me in their own super packed schedules, then I certainly am not going to miss seeing them for a run.

Early Saturday the kids and I visited Ash laden with highlight strips in her head.  Then I went to my Momma’s a ran 12 miles around good old Clifton Springs in the rain.  A route I have done many times in my life- country air, cows, and lots of farmland.  I didn’t bring anything with me as far as fuel/drink and that was not smart.  I’m not sure if that’s the reason, but my run was not great.  By mile 9 my body pretty much wanted to stop and started to shut down.  I finished, but not easily.  I felt so tired and drained instead of replenished afterwards.  I preach hydration and then I don’t follow my own advice.  Never again, mark my words!  It makes me appreciate Mendon and our running group so much.

Me.

Sunday I was supposed to run 8 miles, but I ended up only running four when Brian got home from work.  It’s all I could fit in amongst everything else going on- church, brunch with friends, chores, and life.  I am SO happy for my friends and all they’re doing with their lives, but being pretty much the only one home, I get excited when they’re here. I wouldn’t miss that for the world.  Thanks girls<3

friends

Pumpkins have been consuming my life for much of October already and are the sole reason we’re so busy.  We’ve picked them, painted them, carved them, put babies inside of them, hung out with them, eaten them, and roasted their seeds.  October is all about pumpkins and there is a lot more October left!

Pumpkins are really good for us for so many things- even nutritionally, they’re pretty fantastic. We get pumpkins from our CSA and I puree it for Charlotte and I also made these cupcakes, which came out so good!  I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin taste, but even I enjoyed them.  Add some cream cheese if you like it for frosting- but cream cheese isn’t for this Mama.  I’d add chocolate somewhere next time!  She gives lots of variations in her recipe.

Also here is a pretty cool article about pumpkins and running!  Woohoo!  I’d better go make some more!!
http://www.runnersworld.com/nutrition-for-runners/how-pumpkins-can-help-your-running?page=single

Basic Pumpkin Cupcakes
cupcake

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 3/4 cups (220 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg*
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves*
  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) dark brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup (227 grams) pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup (120 ml) vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup (80 ml) milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray two 12-count muffin pans with non-stick spray or line with cupcake liners. Set aside.

In a large bowl, toss the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves together until combined. Set aside.
In a medium bowl, whisk the brown sugar and eggs together until combined. Add the pumpkin, oil, milk, and vanilla until combined. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Do NOT overmix the batter.

Spoon the batter evenly into 14 cups; fill the unused cups one-third full with water to prevent warping. Bake for 17-18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

*Instead of these spices, you may use 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice instead.

And for Mom who hasn’t seen these- here are loads of pictures of our own pumpkins!  Sometimes I think I keep writing this blog just for you, Mom.  Thank you for this weekend.  For all you did, for always encouraging me, and being the greatest Mom and Nana I can imagine.  I love you more than you know<3

pumpkinbaby

q2

q15

q1

q7 q4q8 q11 q13

q16

q17  q20 q21q12 q14

q18

Happy Fall<3

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/11/16/favorite-pumpkin-cupcakes/

Leave a Reply

