Breaking News: Braxton Runs a 1/2 Mile Race and Eats Applesauce Cookies!!

Yeah yeah, I ran some this weekend.  But I must highlight this one with my boy’s latest fun run!  He’s a little rock star, that Braxtonio Roberto.

race5
See?  He even has a badass scorpion tattoo.

Saturday was the Scarecrow Festival in Fairport, which included a 5k and a Family Fun Run/obstacle course in the morning to benefit Safe Journey. We walked down, kids donned in their Halloween costumes as requested.  One a speedy race car driver, the other a cheeky cabbage patch doll.  We cheered for the runners in the race and then signed up for our own.

race6Brother: “How cool is this?  We get to wear our costumes already!!”
Sister: “Shut your mouth, Staples. Say that when Mom throws a mop on your head and calls you a ‘doll’.”
race4

Insert into my life another moment of pure pride/near tears.  Hannah stayed with Charlotte while Brax and I lined up for our 1/2 mile fun.  On your mark, get set, GO!!  We were off- he was off- he held my hand and we ran together.  We went through the obstacles- weaved through cones, spun around a dizzy bat, climbed over a hay bale, jumped in a hopscotch ladder, hula hooped, and potato sacked (me bouncing him along), then ran back.  He stopped to walk a few times and then would say- Ok Mommy, let’s go- and run again.  Towards the end, he let go of my hand and ran ahead of me, full of speed and pure joy.  It was the sweetest, most wonderful moment I could share with my little boy.  I’m so proud of him.  He was crazy excited to run with me and the feeling was absolutely mutual.

race3
race2We did it!!

He picked out his pumpkin trophy at the end (the weirdest looking one of them all of course)…but then he was ready to ride- those little legs had enough!  Before we left, we played some games and Braxton finally decided to take his first ride on a pony!

race7race8

 1/2 mile for a three-year old is a lot, and he slept like a log last night!  He is so freaking awesome.  Even if you’re not a runner yourself, children absolutely LOVE to run, and most anyone can do a half mile.  Every kid there was having a blast!  Some were extremely serious about it and it was adorable.  Look for any sort of fun run and try it with your kids! Or come run one with us!  It’s such a fun, healthy way to get out of the house, get moving, and spend quality time together.

race9

race10
Tiny spectator!  It won’t be long until my little beauty is holding my other hand while we run<3

Onward to my own training.  Do I have to?  I feel like I keep saying, “I was supposed to run, but…”  Well, I was supposed to run 20 this weekend, but…

I ran a pace 5 miles on Saturday and planned to run 18-20 today.  I woke up this morning feeling completely awful.  It is extremely rare that I get sicker than a sniffly cold, but when I do, I’m a big baby about it and do everything in my power to make it go away.  I learned my lesson big time the last time I ran through a “bad cold” and got yelled at by the doctor whom I’ve had to see exactly that one time in my adult life.  So I don’t mess around anymore!  This morning, I felt it in my chest and my body had that annoying achy feeling.  I made it to Mendon to meet the group and joined them for their 8 miles- this ended up being 8 extremely fast miles, so thank you Tom and John for that!  My mind wanted to run more, but my body wasn’t having it.

It was my kids.

My new plan is to run 20 miles this Wednesday morning after kicking whatever this is.  The hardest thing about running around babies is that when I have a time planned for 20 miles, that is literally the only time I have to fit it in.  Missing it is extremely disappointing.  But had I run further today, I would have been completely wiped out for the rest of the day- and I can’t do that to my kids.  Another fork in the road to this marathon, but I’m not worried yet.  I don’t really have to run three twenty-mile runs- I just want to.  I’m loading up on the o.j. and hoping Wednesday brings better news!

One thing I did do with that extra time this morning was to make some quick cookies.  Does it sound terrible that I baked something after saying how sick I feel?  Oh well, I washed my hands and was very proper about the entire thing.  And it’s my fam, they’re all sniffling away right along with me anyways.

If you’re looking for something to do with your leftover apples from picking, try these!  They’re moist and delicious and super easy!  I didn’t have heavy cream, so I just used coconut milk for the icing, and it was a little thinner, but fine!

Iced Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies
Iced Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

  • 4 Tbsp butter, room temp
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup small diced Granny Smith apples (about 1 small apple)
    Icing
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp real Maple Syrup
  • 3 Tbsp heavy cream

Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 350°
    2. Line baking sheet with parchment and set aside.
    3. Mix butter and sugar together with mixer until combined, about 2 minutes. Add in egg, applesauce, vanilla, baking soda and salt and mix until incorporated, about another minute. Mixture will look slightly curdled.
    4. Turn mixer to low and add in oats and flour, mixing until combined. Stir in apples.
    5. Drop dough by heaping tablespoon onto lined pan, about 2 inches apart and bake for 10-12 minutes until tops are set.
    6. Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool.
Icing
  1. Mix all icing ingredients in a bowl until smooth and then drizzle over top

Happy Baking!!

Oh, and while I sit here and complain of my sniffles, I probably should mention how amazing one of my fellow Mendonites was this weekend. I couldn’t be there to cheer him on, but congratulations to Jim for completing the Canandaigua 50 mile run around the lake- in a great time too.  He’s incredible, inspiring, and awesome…he’s an ultramarathoner!!

And thank you Hannah for everything on Saturday- especially for taking some fantastic pictures!  I was happy to see that smile:)

race

 

http://cookiesandcups.com/iced-applesauce-oatmeal-cookies/

Leave a Reply

