Honey Nut Squash- delicious and by Cornell!

Braxton is getting more and more of a little mind of his own.  It’s the cutest thing to hear the thought processes going on in that growing mind come out of his little mouth.  He’s asking questions about everything and just loves to learn, be silly, and get a reaction.  When I picked him up from daycare yesterday, this was a conversation:

Brax: Sometimes my love you Mommy and sometimes my don’t.
MeWhen don’t you love me?!
Brax: When you make me crazy, Mommy.

Where does he get this stuff??

Talk about making anyone crazy- clutter is my enemy and Braxton’s best friend.  He is in this endless stage where he makes a “nest” out of his toys, blankets, and stuffed animals. A little nook between couches is his location of choice.  Typically, he will see just how many things he can dump into it before I have to stop the madness.  No, Bud, you cannot put every toy you own in there.  Braxton Robert, NO MORE STUFF IN THE NEST….  At least he’s asking Charlotte to join his nest now, which she seems to enjoy herself.  I guess it’s not the worse game…

While those two work on being birds, I make dinner.  I picked up a honey nut squash at the farm market this weekend.  Next to it was a big sign that said “the best tasting squash of the season!”  It was also adorable.  I was sold.

Did you know that this little squash was developed at Cornell’s Vegetable Breeding Institute?!  Me neither!  The more you know…

I found a quick recipe online and made that cute little squashy right up.  They were right, it’s delicious.  I only added the honey and nuts to one side so I could share with baby girl.  Good stuff, try it out today with your own din!

Honey Nut Squash

 

 

 

WHAT YOU NEED:
2 squash (butternut, acorn, etc) sliced in half or chopped into cubes
1 tsp coconut oil per squash
1/2 tsp raw honey per squash
1 tbsp sliced almonds (cashews, pecans, walnuts, pistachios, macadamia)
1/8 tsp sea salt
*Serves 4. all measurements depend on how large your squash is.

DIRECTIONS:
1. Slice open squash and discard any seeds
2. In separate bowl, mix up coconut oil, nuts, honey and sea salt
3. Spoon mixture into/onto your squash
4. Broil on high (covered) for about 20 min until soft
5. Uncover and cook for a few minutes to brown the nuts

Enjoy!  A dish worth enduring “the nest” for.  And you know what Brax, as crazy as you make Mommy…I love you all the time<3

the nest

http://www.bewellwitharielle.com/dinner-2/honey-nut-squash

Leave a Reply

