20 Miles of Smiles:)

I did it!  I ran my 20 yesterday!  Hooray Hooray!  Bri took the kids to his parents’ for the morning while I took to the roads.  The highlight of the entire run came around mile six.  I arrived at the canal portion of my loop and behold to my little eyes- there was the heron!  The allusive canal heron I always wish to come across, but ever so rarely do!  I have seen that heron maybe three times in all the time I’ve run the canal, so it has come to be a good luck charm of sorts.  It was RIGHT THERE in front of me and it caught my breath.  He let me take a picture and I talked to stared at it until it flew away from me- probably because he was like why the hell is this person talking to staring at me?  It is such a beautiful and mysterious creature and it made my morning<3

20 miles
Well hello there!!

Aside from my legs being a little sore, I felt great during and afterward.  I can tell the difference from last time when my body was clearly trying to fight off the sick germs PLUS recover from that run- it was too much. I only checked my pace on mile splits and I didn’t freak out about time.  It was the perfect windy fall day and I finished quick- hopefully the same conditions come to Philly with me.  Perhaps bring me that 3:35 or less time I’m hoping for??

20 miles 3
Must save this for proof that I am capable…

But if there is anything I’ve learned from working with the elderly, it is old proverbs.  And if there is any proverb I know well, it is, “Don’t Count Your Chickens Before They Hatch.”  And I won’t.  I have been well-trained before and it didn’t pan out for me.  But I’m a different runner now- I have two amazing little reasons to run.  I want to be optimistic and if the conditions are right and the stars align- it is absolutely a possibility for me to qualify for Boston.  I am ready to get this overwith!!

The rest of my Sunday was spent vegging with the fam. I looked like this most of the day:

20 miles1
Because I always pretend to sleep and take selfies<3

This weekend was also for Trick-Or-Treating with my beans!  We brought them to Lollypop Farm on Saturday for Tails and Treats!  What a beautiful day it was for a good cause:) 

20 miles 2
Brax the Racecar Driver Cat

Speaking of beans, time for our weekend recipe!!  We brought home escarole in our share this week, so Brian made us some delicious beans and greens soup on Sunday- perfect for a cold day. Being the gourmet chef that he is, he whipped his up from memory, but I’ll post a recipe that is similar to what he did. He added sausage to his portion- you know, to make it more manly. And we used veggie broth instead of chicken. Delicious!!  Happy Monday!

Escarole and Bean Soup
Escarole and Bean Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 pound escarole, chopped
  • Salt
  • 4 cups low-salt chicken broth
  • 1 (15-ounce) can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (1-ounce) piece Parmesan
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a heavy large pot over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 15 seconds. Add the escarole and saute until wilted, about 2 minutes. Add a pinch of salt. Add the chicken broth, beans, and Parmesan Cheese. Cover and simmer until the beans are heated through, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/escarole-and-bean-soup-recipe.html

Leave a Reply

