Rainy Rainy Rainy Days

A rainy dark night sure puts a damper on my motivation to get out there and run.  I don’t mind running in the colder weather, but the cold rain really brings it down a notch. It is so much more enticing to stay home and snuggle with the babes under a blanket, eat popcorn, watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, and do the hot dog dance.

rain drops

I skipped my run last night in hopes today would be a better day.  I thought, I’ll just get up Friday morning and get it over with early.  Right.  Didn’t happen.  So far it isn’t looking any better today (I saw snow), but I’ll have to get out there for a quick 4 miles after work either way- no excuses!  Tomorrow I’ll run 5 in anticipation of my final twenty miler on Sunday.

Everyone keeps asking me if I’ve looked at potential weather in Philly the weekend I’m there. I can tell you with certainty that I have not.  I do not want to know right now, it’ll psyche me out.  With all these talks of “polar vortex” and “colder than usual” flying around, Al Roker is not my best friend right now.  Because who else’s fault is it, really?

rainy run

Last night we bid farewell to our farm share for the season.  It was a dreary drab day which made it even sadder to say goodbye.  Saturday we said goodbye to the village farm market, too.  Stop leaving me farmers!!  I think this year I need to go check out the indoor farm market we have in Fairport instead of just saying it.  Maybe it will fill my market void.

farm market

After that, I stopped at Wegmans (because Wegmans fixes everything) and I saw with excitement that they have their pomegranates out and picked up a few!  Those beauties are another one of Braxton’s top 100,000 favorite fruits.

Pomegranates are a super fruit- low in calories and dense in nutrients like Vitamin C and dietary fiber.  Their seeds are the only edible part, and getting the seeds out does take some work.  It’s worth it though!  You can also buy pomegranate juice- I’ve actually never tried it.  I like to pry the seeds out of the actual fruit with them winging all over the kitchen.  B loves to eat them as a snack while making his little hands and mouth a red tint.  A win-win all around.

pomegrante

With Thanksgiving right around the corner, I’ve been looking for something I can make and bring to my Aunt’s house along with the tons of other food that will be there.  I came across this recipe and plan on giving it a try.  It’s a nice spin on a classic using these fabulous little power seeds.  Put it on your table, too:)

Pomegranate Cranberry Sauce
sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh cranberries
  • 1 cup pomegrante seeds
  • 1 large apple (1 cup), diced
  • ½ cup raw orange, cubed
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds, ground
  • 1 teaspoon fresh orange zest
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • small pinch of sea salt to taste

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients (except orange juice and pomegranate seeds) into a sauce pan and heat on medium-high.
  2. Bring this mixture to a boil and cook for 5 minutes, reduce to simmer for 15 minutes on low heat until the cranberries have broken apart, all the fruit has been softened.
  3. Take of the heat after everything is soft and thickened.
  4. Stir in the pomegranate seeds and orange juice last.
  5. Serve warm or chilled.  Keeps in fridge for 5-7 days.
  6. ENJOY!
 Sweeten if this is too tangy for your tastes, simply add more maple syrup or stevia.

 

Leave a Reply

