Baby, Marathon, Baby, Marathon…Cookies!

Haaappy Thursday!  Training this week has been reflective of tapering.  Typically taper weeks are hard for me because I can’t run long distances even when I want to.  This time around, it works out great with all things going on in life.  Monday I did Jillian’s yoga (tripping over babies), Tuesday I ran 4 miles at night with the pooch (60 degrees), and last night was 5 miles (30 degrees).  What the hell, weather?

I am ready for the marathon to get here, but I’m also sad in a way.  The training has gone so fast.  This time next week, I will be getting ready to leave for Philadelphia.  In a blink, it will be over.  I may be the only sad one, though….

marathon
Me and Everyone

In conversation with my co-worker the other day, I said, “What am I going to do when this is over?  For four years, I have carried a baby, trained for a marathon, carried a baby, trained for a marathon.  What am I going to do when this is over?!”  She looked at me blankly and said, “Who says that?!”  Crazy people, that’s who.

We knew we wanted another babe after I ran the Syracuse marathon. But there are definitely no more children in our near future.  Neither do I plan on another marathon anytime that soon.  Maybe for once I can sit still….

I also do not keep up with this blog when I’m done training. I certainly know I hold no candles in the blog world- I’m not in this for a ton of readers. It is just a good way to hold me accountable to actually going through with the run. And it’s a window into my life for a few months that my kids can read as adults and see for themselves why Mom is…the way Mom is.  I’ll put my writing energy into little poems and songs for them that they can roll their eyes at.  I like to sometimes freestyle Braxton stories at night.  Oh the gems I come up with…

weirdos

So what do I do when it’s over? You know, besides chase two kids around relentlessly…

Well obviously I never stop running- there will always be that.  But I think the answer came as unexpected a couple of months ago.  I will be there even more for my Grams.  Now she needs her family more than ever (thank God for the angel that is Aunt Sandy).

She shaved her head now, but she looks beautiful. The fancy hats she’s rocking are pretty fashionable, too. She is trying to keep in good spirits and we will get her through this. It’s all one day at a time.  Soon, hopefully, I will have far more time to be there with her through her treatments, to bring her cookies to decorate, and kids to snuggle with.

Grandma

Speaking of cookies!!  I’ll have more time for cookies!!  Wait- that is backwards.  I should eat the cookies when I’m running more.  Oh well.  Check out these pearls of deliciousness I made the other day!  They certainly do not fit into the healthy category, but sometimes we just need cookies in our life.  Actually, all the time.  I’m pretty sure the saying is…”A cookie a day keeps the doctor away.”  RIght?  Something like that.  Enjoy!! 🙂

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Banana Cream Pudding Cookies
cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter Softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 (3.4 oz) box instant banana cream pudding dry, do not prepare
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda 
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter chips more if desired
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips more if desired

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Stir together flour and baking soda and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars together.
  4. Add in pudding package and beat until well blended.
  5. Add eggs and vanilla.
  6. Add flour mixture slowly until well incorporated.
  7. Add peanut butter chips and chocolate chips.
  8. Roll into 1″ balls and place on greased baking sheet.
  9. Bake at 350 F for 8-12 minutes.

http://www.chef-in-training.com/2012/09/peanut-butter-and-chocolate-chip-banana-cream-pudding-cookies/

Leave a Reply

