Brussels Sprouts and Cold!!

WOW it is cold outside this morning!  This winter is just all of a sudden like, “Yup, I’m here and there is nothing you can do about it.”

snowmen

I’m actually glad to be tapering in such conditions, but it leaves me with very little to write about.  It can be argued that I never really have anything interesting to write about, but now even more so.  This weekend ended with 8 miles from my Mom’s house in Clifton. Then (depending on your definition of remarkable), something remarkable happened!  As I came to the end of the run I couldn’t believe my little eyes- there in the stream I run by was…a heron!  I think he was there to send me off with some good luck.

heron
Hi, Lovely!

The weather in Philly is looking to be pretty good.  At least slightly warmer than it is here.  But not to worry- our hotel room has one King bed which I’m sure all four of us will end up in, so there will be plenty of staying warm/not sleeping at all.  I better stock up on all the sleep I can get right now!  3 more dayssss!!

And speaking of cold- what reminds you of cold more than Brussels sprouts?  They’re probably the first thing you think of, actually. Well, you may have picked up some of these little guys at the market or maybe you should go right now and get some.  I’ll wait for you while you do…

clock

…ok great!  Now make this wonderful meal!  It is so simple and quick.  Brian had TWO helpings, Charlotte ate everything on her tray, and Braxton ate it fairly well.  He actually liked the sprouts more than the gnocchi, but hey, I’ll take that.  So yummy- happy eating:)

Gnocchi with Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Lemon & Pine Nuts
gnocci

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Brussels sprouts, trimmed and quartered
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 pound gnocchi, cooked according to package instructions and drained
  • Zest from 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Toss the Brussels sprouts with 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large bowl. Transfer to a rimmed baking sheet and roast in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until tender and beginning to brown, stirring occasionally.
  3. Transfer the gnocchi and Brussels sprouts to the large bowl. Toss with the lemon zest, pine nuts, and cheese, then season with salt and pepper to taste.

And finally, Happy 11 Months to my little girl today.  I can’t believe we will be celebrating one year in just a month!  She’s doing major squats, but no steps yet. She is working on the word “doggy” (or really just a two-syllable sound that I know means doggy). She is fiercely independent at times (forget about purees, this girl feeds herself), but extremely cuddly when she is in the mood. She is very nosy about everything going on around her, loves to play with anything that isn’t her toys, she blows kisses, and has a boyfriend named William at daycare. She makes every day more beautiful just by being there and is growing into quite the amazing little girl♥  I am so proud to be her Mommy.

11 months
I love you little lady<3

http://ohmyveggies.com/recipe-gnocchi-roasted-brussels-sprouts-lemon-pine-nuts/

Leave a Reply

